Nestled in between The Witch House and The First Church on Essex Street, The JPaul, is the quintessential location to experience the history and charm of Salem, Massachusetts. Built in 1755, this house was built for Mary Lindall, a granddaughter of Judge Jonathan Corwin who lived next door at "The Witch House."
Benjamin Thomson, later known as Count Rumford, lived here during his teenage years when he was an apprentice to John Appleton, a local merchant. Count Rumford was a physicist and inventor, known for many inventions, including the Rumford Fireplace, the sous-vide food preparation method and thermal underwear.
Located in the McIntire Historic District, we are steps away from the Ropes Mansion (Hocus Pocus House) and Garden and are within walking distance to restaurants and museums downtown.
Local Salem painter and Airbnb host John Casey hosts pop up art gallery shows during the year. Check out his website for more information.
From Sunday Dinners to holiday celebrations, sharing our love for food with family and friends is a cornerstone of the JPaul.